Arizona State Law defines homeschooling as a nonpublic school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian
or other person who has custody of the child, or nonpublic instruction provided in the child’s home.
Homeschoolers are parents or legal guardians who choose to educate their own children at home in at least
the required subjects of reading, grammar, math, science, and social studies. The following information
is intended as a reference for those interested in participating in homeschooling in accordance with
Arizona Revised Statutes
Every child between the ages of six and sixteen years shall attend a school and shall be provided
instruction in at least the subjects of reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies and science.
The person who has custody of the child shall choose a public, private, charter or home school.
The same statute defines home schooling as a school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian or
other person who has custody of the child or instruction provided in the child's home. Private school
is a non public institution other than the child's home where academic instruction is provided for
at least the same number of days and hours each year as a public school.
Children attending a home or private school must have an affidavit of intent
filed with the County School Superintendent's Office. The affidavit of intent to home or private school
a child must be filed within 30 days from the time the child begins to attend a home or private school
and is not required thereafter unless the home or private school instruction is terminated and then
resumed. The affidavit of intent must include the child's name, date of birth, current address of the school
the child will be attending and names, telephone numbers, and addresses of the person(s) having custody
of the child. Along with the affidavit of intent, the County School Superintendent must be provided
with a certified copy of the child's birth certificate and other reliable proof of the child's identity
and age, which can include the child's baptismal certificate, an application for a social security
number, original school registration records, an affidavit explaining the inability to provide a copy
of the birth certificate, or a letter from the authorized representative of an agency having custody
of the child pursuant to Title 8 Chapter 2 certifying that the child has been placed in the custody
of the agency as prescribed by law
When terminating home or private school instruction, it is required that the County School Superintendent's
Office be notified within 30 days of the termination.